Architectural Heritage 28 results
  • Protestant Church

    The building designed by Frigyes Schulek, completed in 1884, is also called the 'Cockerel church' owing to the figure decorating its tower.
  • Deutsch Palace

    It was designed by Mihály Erdélyi with majolica ornaments in green, blue and orange and built between 1900 and 1902.
  • Schäffer Palace

    The current sight of the Schäffer Palace confronts us indeed with how much Szeged’s cityscape ...
  • Musical clock

    The tunes of this unique piece of art by watchmaker Ferenc Csúri could be first heard at the Open Air Festival in 1936.
  • Old Synagogue

    The nicely preserved monument built between 1837 and 843 was created by the Lipovszky brothers, Henrik and József.
  • Gróf Palace

    It is a determinant building on Tisza Lajos Boulevard being the biggest protected monument built in secession style in Szeged.
  • Upper Elementary Girls’ School (Tömörkény)

    It is a late Art Nouveau, 2-storey building in whose facade, formed as an arched ridge, the stylish and moderate application of brick-facing and striped ornaments deserves our attention.
  • Raichl House

    The architect’s palace in Szeged is larger and more imposingly executed, yet it is more modest in comparison with its counterpart in Subotica, failing to reach its outstanding unity of style and the elaboration of its details.
  • St. Demetrius Tower

    Outside the Votive church stands the Saint Demetrius Tower, the oldest architectural relic of the city.
  • Beregi House

    The Beregi House is one of the gems in the splendid row of palaces of the Szeged’s cityscape, which primarily is an extraordinary example of the brick architecture and Art Nouveau architectural school.
  • Water Tower in St. Steven Square

    The tower, which can hold 1004,8 m3of water, was designed by Szilárd Zielinski.
  • City Hall

    The present City Hall is the third building in the same place with the same function. The first building of a modest design was raised in 1728. It was followed by the second one with the same area as the present hall, designed by István Vedres at the turn of the 18th and 19th centuries.