The building standing at the corner of Somogyi and Kelemen Street is unique in its style, appearance and location. It was built in English romantic style in 1857 on the base of the designs by Károly Gerster. The name of the house, originally a commercial townhouse, then a casino, comes from the dark grey-black colour used on the exterior earlier. Black House has been providing permanent exhibit rooms for the historical department of Ferenc Móra Museum, regularly accommodating temporary exhibitions related to the past of the city. The junction, where the striking building decorated with a corner tower stands is unique in Szeged, as all of the buildings standing at the four corners were built in the 19th century, survived the devastating flood, and due to their important role in cityscape, all of them are protected monuments.
The museum and its all exhibitions are closed starting with 31 december 2021 because of winter holiday.
Expected re-open: February 2022
6720 Szeged, Somogyi utca 13.